Konrad-Thaler Commemoration Award

In 2005 our much-valuated colleague Konrad Thaler passed away. He was one of the last university lecturers whose research topis focussed on the faunistics, ecology, biogeography and taxonomy of the native arachnids in Central Europe. In order to contribute to the continuation of this research tradition, the board of the AraGes decided in this year to honor the deceased scientist and committed teacher by naming a young-academics prize after him: the Konrad-Thaler-Commemoration Prize.

The Konrad Thaler Commemoration Prize acknowledges extraordinary theses from all fields of arachnology (except Acari). Since 2007 it is awarded every third year during the member councils of the AraGes.

The jury consists of the board of the AraGes as well as an external juror; the winner is determined by simple majority vote of the jurors.

For the next award period (2016-2018) a prize of 1000 € is foreseen for an outstanding dissertation and a prize of 500 € for an outstanding master thesis, considered by the jury. If the jury considers no theses to be prizeworthy, it can choose not to give the prize to anyone.

The theses are to be submitted in writing as well as PDF copy until the 4.1.2019 to:

Dr. Ambros Hänggi

Naturhistorisches Museum Basel
Abt. Biowissenschaften
Augustinergasse 2
CH – 4001 Basel